2017 Holiday Catalog, Annual Catalog 2017-2018, Challenges, Inspire.Create.Challenges

Inspire.Create.Challenge #004

November 1st already?! Where did the year go? I hope everyone had a good Halloween. Trunk or Treat was fun and many people loved our trunk decorations, which this year was spiderwebs and a big spider!

Now it’s time to start thinking of Thanksgiving plans and Christmas presents!

Christmas cards are one of the most sent out card besides birthdays so why not make them special?

This challenge was a fun one since I love all of the colors! I hope they inspire you to create a special card! Remember we love making cards but we also need to be sending them out. That is something I lack on 😕 So I plan to buy some stamps and set up a little mailing center.

But onto our Color Challenge! I created a fun whimsical Christmas card using shaving cream and reinkers! This would be a great card to make multiples of. Each would turn out just a little different.

Using shaving cream and reinkers is a lot of fun but also very messy!! So make sure to have paper towels close by! Our inks are water based so they do clean off your hands pretty well.

I always do this technique on a craft mat so it’s easy clean up. My biggest tip is to find a shaving cream you like the smell of, ask me how I know! 🙈

All you need to do is spray some shaving cream onto the mat and drip a couple drops of each ink. It’s best to kind of spread them around not have all one color in one spot.

Then I use my bone folder to make swirls and lines moving the ink around the top of the shaving cream. The design you see is close to what will end up on your paper.

You can just stir and swirl the colors after each time you do a piece of paper. I did use watercolor paper for this project since it can handle the moisture more.

Usually the colors can do like 4 pages before having to add more drops.

Next you’ll want to let your papers dry before putting your project together. So I usually like to start with this part then do my die cutting and stamping while it dries.

I used Flirty Flamingo as my card base. Then I adhered the shaving cream layer down with Tombow liquid glue since the layer may not be flat.

Then I cut the Dazzling Diamond Glimmer paper using the large circle from the Stitched Shapes dies. Also used a smaller circle for the sentiment from the Snowflake Sentiments. I layered a strip of Soft Sky in between the two circles as well as added some punched vellum leaves. They give a little extra whimsy. Finished it up with 2 black rhinestones.

I hope you enjoyed my card and join us in linking up your color challenge project! Also don’t forget to check out the other design teams projects! Inspire.Create.Challenge Blog

Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Keep Stampin’!

Britney Vanderlaan

Hopepapercreations@aol.com

All Stampin’ Up! orders during November using the hostess below will get some Happy Mail from me as a thank you! Here’s a link to Stampin’ Up! Store

6 thoughts on “Inspire.Create.Challenge #004”

  1. Oh, this is so cute! I really must have a go at the shaving cream background, thanks for sharing your tips! Great make xx

Leave a Reply

