2017 Holiday Catalog, Annual Catalog 2017-2018, Challenges, Designer Series Paper, Inspire.Create.Challenges

Inspire. Create. Stamp Challenges #002

Do you enjoy listening to music or the TV while creating? I love having music on! Sometimes I get lost in creating that I don’t even pay attention to what’s playing. When I was creating this card I had a playlist on Spotify going. What I didn’t realize until my man pointed it out was that the sentiment I choose happened to be about a journey and Journey was playing for the last couple songs! It’s amazing how music can influence us even when we’re not paying attention to it.

img_4448-2-e1506629396797.jpg

Welcome to our second challenge! This Inspire. Create. Stamp Challenges. challenge is a card sketch. A card sketch is an image where you take the shapes & placement and use it as an inspiration to design your card. This card sketch has a diagonal shape in the background with a layer above that. 

img_4463
Click the Card Sketch to go to Inspire. Create. Challenges Blog to see the other Design Team Members creations.

The colors I used were given to me from another stamper as a personal color challenge. Chocolate Chip, Marina Mist and Pumpkin Pie. I struggled with this combo at first but once I started thinking about Autumn I knew the direction I wanted to go. I love that it turned out to be more masculine. I think many stampers including myself have a harder time creating masculine cards.

I chose to use Chocolate Chip as my card base. I don‘t use the color often but it grew on me a lot after doing this card! I then picked out a piece of designer series paper from the Spooky Night pack that with a simple pattern. I cut it down to 4 1/4′ by 5 1/2″ then I cut it at a diagonal. 

I took my Marina Mist card stock and cut it down as a card front layer. Then used Very Vanilla card stock as another layer above that.

IMG_4449 2

 

Now to this awesome leaf! I used copper foil paper and then heat embossed copper embossing powder on top of it using the larger leaf from Vintage leaves stamp set. Then I took the framelit that coordinates and die cut it out. I added Stampin’ Dimensionals to the back to make it stand out even more. 

The sentiment is from Paiseys & Posies stamp set. Inks take longer to dry on vellum so I decided to emboss it. I used Memento Black ink to stamp it then immediately added clear embossing powder to it. Vellum can be a tricky product to use but it adds such a different element to cards. To adhere the vellum I just put two small dots of liquid glue on the ends then I covered them up with black rhinestone jewels.

Who would you send this card to? Tell me in the comments and I will randomly pick a name to send this card to for them to send to that person!

Don’t forget to play along with our challenge!

Shop my Stampin’ Up! Store by using the October hostess code when your in the shopping bag. Everyone that purchases in October will receive a handmade card from me. Click the image below to go to the Stampin’ Up! Store

Hostess Code_3W6ACV4B

Have A Great Week!

~Britney Vanderlaan 

Hopepapercreations@aol.com

 

Product List

 

12 thoughts on “Inspire. Create. Stamp Challenges #002”

  1. That copper on copper is stroke of genius! I love it 🙂 Thanks for joining in with Inspire. Create. Challenges sketch challenge 🙂
    Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

